Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Joni Mitchell – The Hissing Of Summer Lawns

Sold out
Original price $52.00 - Original price $52.00
Original price
$52.00 - $52.00
Current price $52.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • This album, released in 1975, clearly showed that Joni Mitchell was in search of new musical horizons and sounds. The "Hissing Of Summer Lawns" was "stuck" between their commercial biggest success "Court and Spark" and the masterpiece "Hejira" and sank a bit, then as now. Wrongly, the album contains some of their best songs ever. The very pleasing (and sometimes criticized as too smooth and American) production is reminiscent of "Court and Spark". With electric guitars, electric pianos and background vocals in the back, the result is a very compact and almost poppy sound, which stands in an exciting contrast to the usual complex song structures and the differentiated lyrics

    The opener introduces the album in a straight and relaxed way. "Edith And The Kingpin" is a classic Mitchell in a soft easy-listening sound with beautiful brass and choir parts. "Dont Interrupt The Sorrow" focuses on exquisite guitar playing and anticipates the mood of "Hejira" with its brittle melody and vibrating instrumentation. "Shades Of Scarlet Conquering" is certainly one of the most beautiful J. Mitchell songs ever. Smooth and exquisitely underlaid with strings, the text shines intensively into the inner life of a woman. The title song is unusually groovy and elegant, but with a text that gets under your skin. "Boho Dance", complex in structure and bitingly open in text, dresses in a beautiful brass riff. "Harrys House" indulges in a charming excursion into the jazz standard "Centerpiece". In the context of the complete works, this album represents a break insofar as it finally bids farewell to the hippiesque and partly excited and spun mood of the earlier albums. The Sound is calmer, more transfigured, more relaxed and more mature. This is also reflected in the deeper timbre of the singer.
  • Artist: Joni Mitchell
    Label: Asylum Records, Rhino Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 In France They Kiss On Main Street
    A2 The Jungle Line
    A3 Edith And The Kingpin
    A4 Don'T Interrupt The Sorrow
    A5 Shades Of Scarlett Conquering
    B1 The Hissing Of Summer Lawns
    B2 The Boho Dance
    B3 Harry'S House / Centerpiece
    B4 Sweet Bird
    B5 Shadows And Light