Skip to content
STORE PICKUP option is available on checkout
STORE PICKUP option is available on checkout

The Beatles – Magical Mystery Tour

Sold out
Condition: Brand New


Despite the continued success of their latest album Sgt. Pepper and their summer hit 1967 All You Need Is Love nevertheless got the Beatles into a rough patch. Manager Brian Epstein had died and although he was no longer able to defend the interests of the Beatles due to excessive drug and alcohol use, they still saw something of a rock in him. John Lennon wondered out loud who could, if necessary, adjust the Beatles.

Again it was Paul McCartney who, like Sgt. Pepper, came up with the basic idea for the movie Magical Mystery Tour. McCartney himself was already working on the title song, while the songs Your Mother Should Know and Fool On The Hill were almost ready. He even went so far that when he had a song partially finished he went to Lennon and told John to write the rest. He had little appetite for that, especially since he was working on another tour de force at the same time, namely I Am The Walrus.

And although senseless in terms of text, the combination of melody and text is impressive. The instrumental Flying originally lasted more than nine and a half minutes. It would eventually be reduced to two minutes and fifteen seconds. It was the first time that all four Beatles were listed as composers by a song. The sixth and final new song is George Harrison's Blue Jay Way. The song is about the dense fog in Los Angeles on an evening when press officer Derek Taylor arrived too late at George.

The moment the double e.p. A few weeks earlier (November 24, 1967), the single Hello Goodbye was released, featuring B-side I Am The Walrus. Thus, the number of new songs on the double e.p. reduced to five. The singles All You Need Is Love, plus b-side Baby You're A Rich Man, as well as the single Penny Lane plus b-side Strawberry Fields Forever were pulled out of the hat by Capitol to get an album "full". But for Beatles concepts, an album with only 11 songs was very thin.

Release details

Label: Apple Records, Capitol Records
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo
Country: UK & Europe
Released: 2012


A1 Magical Mystery Tour
A2 The Fool On The Hill
A3 Flying
A4 Blue Jay Way
A5 Your Mother Should Know
A6 I Am The Walrus
B1 Hello Goodbye
B2 Strawberry Fields Forever
B3 Penny Lane
B4 Baby You'Re A Rich Man
B5 All You Need Is Love