Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Sylvan Esso – What Now

On order
Original price $42.00 - Original price $42.00
Original price
$42.00 - $42.00
Current price $42.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • On "What Now" Sylvan Esso absolutely redeem the promise and hope of the potential that was already evident on their debut. In all respects, the band has evolved: The production is bolder, the vocals more intense, the melodies more irresistible and the songs shine brighter than before. However, you can also hear at all times that it is an album made in 2016: it is inextricably linked to the chaos in a country that is currently scratching its own values - expressed with the voices of two artists nestled in different studios, spread all over the country, and confused by all that is happening around them. It has become a very personal, but also a political album; the boundaries are fluid here.

    "What Now" describes the inevitable low that inevitably follows every high. Fueled by the realization that there is no clearly formulated solution. It's an album about falling in love and the lesson that even that doesn't save anyone. About sharing information and about the fine line between self-confidence and narcissism. About coming to terms with personal successes, but with the feeling of the extinguished fire being more present than the satisfaction of what has been achieved. About the devastating realization that no progress will ever last.

    It is an album whose strength lies in its own duality. The bottom line, though, is that it is an album that contains the best songs Sylvan Esso have ever written - masterfully produced and fearlessly sung - to articulate all of our underlying feelings of fear and happiness.
  • Artist: Sylvan Esso
    Label: Loma Vista Recordings
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: Indie Pop
  • A1 Sound
    A2 The Glow
    A3 Die Young
    A4 Radio
    A5 Kick Jump Twist
    B1 Song
    B2 Just Dancing
    B3 Signal
    B4 Slack Jaw
    B5 Rewind