Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner, James McAlister – Planetarium (2xLP)

by 4AD
Original price $62.00 - Original price $62.00
Original price
$62.00 - $62.00
Current price $62.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • A project that began as a commissioned work by the Muziekgebouw Eindhoven for composer Nico Muhly, Planetarium premiered in 2012 but was transformed by the arrival of this collaborative recording five years later. With Muhly, singer/lyricist Sufjan Stevens, the National guitarist Bryce Dessner, and drummer James McAlister receiving equal credit for the music, it also features a string quartet, seven trombonists, a keyboardist, and numerous instrument credits, including synths and programming, by the co-composers.

    Inspired by the Solar System, Planetarium's 17 tracks are named after celestial objects and related phenomena, with Stevens' often enigmatic lyrics focusing on the subjects of science and Greek and Roman mythology. 


  • Artist: Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly, James McAlister
    Label: 4AD
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: USA, Canada & Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Neptune
    A2 Jupiter
    A3 Halley'S Comet
    A4 Venus
    B1 Uranus
    B2 Mars
    B3 Black Energy
    C1 Sun
    C2 Tides
    C3 Moon
    C4 Pluto
    C5 Kuiper Belt
    C6 Black Hole
    C7 Saturn
    C8 In The Beginning
    D1 Earth
    D2 Mercury