Skip to content
STORE PICKUP option is available on checkout
STORE PICKUP option is available on checkout

Severed Heads – Clean

Sold out
Condition: Brand New


Deluxe 2xLP reissue of Severed Heads’ debut 1981 album ‘Clean’. One of the longest surviving bands to emerge from the Australian post-punk independent music scene, they began in Sydney in 1979. Severed Heads is basically a nom- de-plum for Tom Ellard, who incorporates elements of ‘industrial’ noise-generation, tape cutting & looping and electronic sound synthesis. As the project developed song-structures and vocals were employed in a more-or-less recognizable mutant electro pop style.

‘Clean’ was amongst the first vinyl releases under the Dogfood Productions banner of Terse Tapes, previously a cassette-only label. For this records Tom used an array of synthesizers (Kawai 100F, Casiotone, Roland CR78+SH1+CSQ100), sequencers, tapes and occasional guitar and violin played by Garry Bradbury. Severed Heads have a language of their own, music that juxtaposes all sorts of noise, in all sorts of ways so that a structure evolves, (fragmented) melody and rhythm being almost a by-product. As one reviewer said in 1981, “It is an ugly album that you simply cannot ignore, it thuds and screeches and makes you stare just to wonder what kind of people would procure such an album.” For this deluxe reissue we’ve included a bonus disc featuring 13 songs, 5 of which have never been released before, culled from live performances, the ‘Side 3’ cassette and a ‘Clean’ demo tape that only surfaced last year, plus "Food City" missing from previous reissues.

All songs have been remastered by Tom Ellard, with vinyl EQ and lacquer cutting by George Horn at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley. Each copy is housed in a gatefold jacket featuring black and white xeroxed artwork from the first vinyl edition. Inside the gatefold are liner notes by Tom Ellard plus photos and press clippings from the period. “‘Clean’ is original and powerful and everybody should listen to it at least once, just so they know where the boundaries lie.” Ashley Crawford, Virgin Press 1981.

Release details

Label: Dark Entries
Format: LP, Album, Deluxe Edition, Reissue, Remastered
Units: 2
Country: US
Released: 2020
Genre: Electronic


A1 Food City
A2 Our Own Home
A3 Charivari
A4 Nightsong
A5 Car Advertisment
B1 Love
B2 Don't Saxophone
B3 Book
B4 Tiny Fingers
B5 Heavily Tatooed Men + Women
B6 Violins And Moonlight
C1 Stomach
C2 You Will
C3 Turtledove
C4 Flower
C5 Clean Loops
D1 Floopness
D2 Ladies + Gents Digital
D3 Somehow Pain
D4 Subjective
D5 Always Randy
D6 Unbreakable
D7 Traumat
D8 Opera
D9 Siren