Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Come Away With Me – Norah Jones

On order
Original price $45.00 - Original price $45.00
Original price
$45.00 - $45.00
Current price $45.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • lready in the run-up to the release of their debut album "Come Away With Me" the critics were upside down. Magazines like Rolling Stone and Entertainment Weekly have already praised the 22-year-old singer and pianist over the green clover as one of the greatest talents of our days.

    In fact, the artist, who grew up in Texas and now lives in New York, and who was already honored by the jazz magazine Down Beat as a student in Dallas for her singing and compositional talent, masters a rare art. Almost imperceptibly, this dainty-looking creature melts blues, country, folk, jazz and pop into a coherent
    and strong unity.

    Her piano playing has been compared to Bill Evans, her singing style to Joni Mitchell and Tom Waits. But NORAH JONES ultimately sounds like Norah Jones. Her interpretations of Hank Williams ("Cold, Cold Heart") and John D. Loudermilk ("Turn Me On") are immensely refreshing, the songs from her own pen ("Nightingale") or those of her accompanying musicians and companions Lee Alexander and Jesse Harris are intense and intimate.

    Supported by the two top producers Craig Street (Cassandra Wilson, Holly Cole), and Arif Mardin (Bee Gees, Chaka Khan, Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston) as well as some top musicians (Brian Blade, Bill Frisell), a sensational debut album has been created with "Come Away With Me", which makes NORAH JONES Blue Notes greatest pop hope. Blue Note boss Bruce Lundvall has discovered a true jewel.

    But that's not all, "Come Away With Me" stormed the Billboard TOP 200 Pop album charts at an almost dizzying pace, reaching number 58 in the last count.

    What a debut!

    U. Pipper in Stereo 5 / 02: "Full of lightness and without any ambitious effort the compositions float from title to title, so that the 14 songs turn out to be an entertaining pleasure that is mostly over much too fast. It is pleasing and promising that excellent recording quality is offered right on the first work"

  • Artist: Norah Jones
    Label: Blue Note, EMI
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK & Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Don'T Know Why
    A2 Seven Years
    A3 Cold Cold Heart
    A4 Feelin' The Same Way
    A5 Come Away With Me
    A6 Shoot The Moon
    A7 Turn Me On
    B1 Lonestar
    B2 I'Ve Got To See You Again
    B3 Painter Song
    B4 One Flight Down
    B5 Nightingale
    B6 The Long Day Is Over
    B7 The Nearness Of You