Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

The Miles Davis Quintet – Workin' With The Miles Davis Quintet (Blue Translucent Vinyl)

On order
Original price $55.00 - Original price $55.00
Original price
$55.00 - $55.00
Current price $55.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Undeniably one of the best small bands in the history of jazz, the Miles Davis quintet of the mid-1950s made history at the Cafe Bohemia on Manhattan's Barrow Street and in the New Jersey studio of Rudy Van Gelder for Prestige. This is the 3rd in a series of four LPs taped in two marathon studio sessions, done in the style of sets at the Bohemia, producing music of high energy and immediacy. This is a mix of standards and originals, up-tempos and ballads, and a trio number, "Ahmad's Blues." Miles is the sole survivor of this quintet but the music made in the mid-50's period will live forever. The excitement of the emerging John Coltrane; the informed, melodic swing of Red Garland; the tremendous snap and pop of the rhythm trio of Garland, Paul Chambers and Philly Joe Jones, and Miles' poignancy and intense swing. Recording engineered by Rudy Van Gelder.

  • Artist: The Miles Davis Quintet
    Label: Prestige, Original Jazz Classics
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: USA & Canada
    Genre: Jazz
  • A1 It Never Entered My Mind
    A2 Four
    A3 In Your Own Sweet Way
    A4 The Theme (Take 1)
    B1 Trane'S Blues
    B2 Ahmad'S Blues
    B3 Half Nelson
    B4 The Theme (Take 2)