Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Triage – Methyl Ethel

by 4AD
On order
Original price $55.00 - Original price $55.00
Original price
$55.00 - $55.00
Current price $55.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • With a title that's a play on words, Methyl Ethel's third album of a self-described trilogy, Triage, was produced, performed, and recorded by Jake Webb at his home studio, though its lush, lopsided textures hardly sound like what was a solo effort until the mixing stage. Parts melancholy, trippy, and dancy, he combined programmed and traditional instruments, including his own synth timbres, layering them in ways that sound more like atmospheric arena fare than what was essentially a one-man recording project. (At this point, Webb continues to perform live with bandmates.) Having said that, Triage sounds a little older and wiser than Methyl Ethel's first two albums without relinquishing the project's psychedelic quality and dissatisfied demeanor. In fact, he adds another component, weaving an '80s new wave/post-punk influence into his complex blend of neo-psychedelia, introspective alt-rock, and dream pop. In the most obvious example, "Trip the Mains" offers blunt, early Casio-style synth tones, needling synth bass, and post-disco drum-machine beats on a wistful dance tune that Webb has said was influenced by listening to the Cure and Scary Monsters at the time.

    Songs like "Scream Whole" and "Real Tight" also evoke the turn of the 1980s with glistening, staccato keyboard chords, yearning vocal lines, and ringing melodic guitar. Elsewhere, the giddy, operatic "Post-Blue" takes a more dramatic turn as it travels through sections that vary in tempo, rhythm, instrumentation, and key. It's reflective of an album that's part catchy song, part shimmering atmosphere, and part fractured rumination. It will be interesting to see what Webb comes up with for album four; in the meantime, Triage offers Methyl Ethel's most immersive collection to date.


  • Artist: Methyl Ethel
    Label: 4AD
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Ruiner
    A2 Scream Whole
    A3 All The Elements
    A4 Trip The Mains
    B1 Post-Blue
    B2 Real Tight
    B3 Hip Horror
    B4 What About The 37º?
    B5 No Fighting