Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Time And Place – Lee Moses

On order
Original price $48.00 - Original price $48.00
Original price
$48.00 - $48.00
Current price $48.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Lee Moses was a huge talent - and if one of his albums can be called a big hit album, then it's "Time And Place". A self-taught multi-instrumentalist, he gained his first experience in the clubs of Atlanta, where he often performed with Gladys Knight (who supposedly wanted to lure him into her band, but could never convince him to do so) .
    However, it was in New York in the 1960s that Moses achieved the fame he desired. Moses started there as a session musician, even played often with the until then not famous Jimi Hendrix. His close relationship with producer Johnny Brantley, also from Atlanta, finally led to his breakthrough with a series of singles in 1967 - mainly cover versions of "My Adorable One" (Joe Simon), "Reach Out, I'll Be There" (The Four Tops) and "Day Tripper" (The Beatles) .
    In 1971 he released the album "Time And Place", produced by Brantley, on Maple Records. It was recorded with a band consisting of members of The Ohio Players and another project of Moses, the band The Deciples. And yet it was Lee Moses himself, with his scratchy guitar riffs, throat-breaking voice and upsetting mood, who created the unique mix of funk, soul and R&B on this album .
    After the LP did not sell as well as hoped, Moses went back to Atlanta. There he played again in different clubs, married twice, finally suffered from depressions and became a drug addict. He died in 1997 at the age of 56 years. After his death, "Time And Place" became a much sought-after album for collectors and over the years the cult around the record grew. Now we present "Time And Place" as a deluxe vinyl, with liner notes by Sarah Sweeney, including interviews with Moses' sister and his closest confidant, singer and guitarist Hermon Hitson.
  • Artist: Lee Moses
    Label: Future Days Recordings, Maple Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Soul & Funk
    Style: Soul
  • A1 Time And Place
    A2 Got That Will
    A3 What You Don'T Want Me To Be
    A4 California Dreaming
    A5 Every Boy And Girl
    B1 Hey Joe
    B2 Free At Last
    B3 Would You Give Up Everything
    B4 Adorable One