Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Johnny Hartman – I Just Dropped By To Say Hello

On order
Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Newly remastered in the Abbey Road studios in London, pressed in 180 gram vinyl and of course in the famous original gatefold sleeves.

    Johnny Hartman, whom Gregory Porter names as one of his most important role models, may not be counted among the most famous jazz singers, but he still wrote jazz history because he was the only singer with whom John Coltrane has ever recorded an album.

    That unusual collaboration ("John Coltrane And Johnny Hartman") came about in March 1963 for Impulse! Records and immediately became a classic and crowd favorite. A good six months later Hartman returned to the studio to sing a wonderfully ballad-like solo album with "I Just Dropped By To Say Hello".

    He was accompanied by a top-class band with tenor saxophonist Illinois Jacquet, guitarists Kenny Burrell and Jim Hall, pianist Hank Jones, bassist Milt Hinton and drummer Elvin Jones.

  • Artist: Johnny Hartman
    Label: Impulse!
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Jazz
    Style: Swing
  • A1 Charade
    A2 In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
    A3 Sleepin' Bee
    A4 Don'T You Know I Care
    A5 Kiss & Run
    A6 If I'M Lucky
    B1 I Just Dropped By To Say Hello
    B2 Stairway To The Stars
    B3 Our Time
    B4 Don'T Call It Love
    B5 How Sweet It Is To Be In Love