Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Joe McPhee – Nation Time

On order
Original price $45.00 - Original price $45.00
Original price
$45.00 - $45.00
Current price $45.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Nation Time is a live album by saxophonist and composer Joe McPhee recorded in late 1970 and originally released on the CjR label, then reissued by Atavistic in 2000.

    The Allmusic review by Lang Thompson stated "the end result is inventive and captivating". On All About Jazz, Robert Spencer noted "one of the most exciting things about this album is the sense of space. Although all three of these tracks are quite propulsive, McPhee and his men are imaginative enough to continue to refresh them with rhythmic and other variations". PopMatters writer Imre Szeman said "Nation Time is as a good a place as any to start a sustained relationship with this genius of modern jazz. It’s the kind of album that you want to tell everyone about and that you want to force everyone to listen to. Brilliant stuff-an absolutely, positively recommended addition to your collection".

    Joe McPhee - tenor saxophone, trumpet
    Otis Greene - alto saxophone (track 2)
    Mike Kull - piano, electric piano
    Herbie Lehman - organ (track 2)
    Dave Jones - guitar (track 2)
    Tyrone Crabb - bass, electric bass, trumpet
    Bruce Thompson, Ernest Bostic - percussion

  • Artist: Joe McPhee
    Label: Superior Viaduct
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Jazz
  • A Nation Time
    B1 Shakey Jake
    B2 Scorpio'S Dance