Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Soft Sounds From Another Planet – Japanese Breakfast

On order
Original price $42.00 - Original price $42.00
Original price
$42.00 - $42.00
Current price $42.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • "Soft Sounds From Another Planet" by Japanese Breakfast is less a concept album about the discovery of space than a mood board brought to life. Over the course of twelve songs, Michelle Zauner embarks on a soundscape that she creates herself and whose square footage is enough to reflect all of her influences.

    There are songs on "Soft Sounds From Another Planet" that recall the pathos of Roy Orbison's ballads, while others could easily be cinematic treatments of a wide shot from "Blade Runner." Zauner's voice is expansive: One second she's singing an ode to the past, the next she's almost robotically telling a love story with lyrics that are more personal and to the point than ever before.

    If "Psychopomp" was a genre-crossing introduction to the world of Japanese Breakfast, then this visionary second album catapults the project to unimagined heights.

    "Even further away from shoegaze and more clearly produced, Michelle Zauner gives her indie pop/rock more polish, breadth and, above all, tremendous depth of content." (musikexpress, July 17, 2017)
  • Artist: Japanese Breakfast
    Label: Dead Oceans
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Diving Woman
    A2 Road Head
    A3 Machinist
    A4 Planetary Ambience
    A5 Soft Sounds From Another Planet
    A6 Boyish
    B1 12 Steps
    B2 Jimmy Fallon Big!
    B3 The Body Is A Blade
    B4 Till Death
    B5 This House
    B6 Here Come The Tubular Bells