Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Isaac Albéniz, New Philharmonia Orchestra, Rafael Frühbeck De Burgos – Suite Española (Speakers Corner)

On order
Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • The suite española by the piano virtuoso and composer Isaac Albéniz is one of the most outstanding works in Spanish music history. Albéniz invites the listener on a musical tour through eight large, traditional cities of the Iberian Peninsula and dedicates its local colour tribute to each location.

    The peculiar combination of extensively used musical folklore and dazzling virtuosity can also be found in Albéniz's other works, which exerted a lasting influence on compositions by Debussy and Ravel.

    The version originally created for piano was arranged by Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos for a large orchestra, whose diverse sound possibilities underline the expressiveness of this music. He replaced the last movement (Cuba) with Cordoba, a piano piece from Albéniz 'Cantos de España, op. 132, which Frühbeck de Burgos also orchestrated. How advantageous it is when the arranger conducts himself in order to implement his ideas is shown by this completely convincing recording.

    The precision of rhythmic interjections and the flow of melodies are impressive. The music creates images that give an impression of shimmering heat over the barren Spanish landscape and of life in the cities portrayed.
  • Artist: New Philharmonia Orchestra, Isaac Albéniz, Rafael Frühbeck De Burgos
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Germany
    Genre: Classical
    Style: Impressionist
  • B1 Sevilla (Sevillanas)
    B2 Granada (Serenata)
    B3 Cataluña (Corranda)
    B4 Cordoba
    A1 Castilla (Seguidillas)
    A2 Asturias (Leyenda)
    A3 Aragon (Fantasia)
    A4 Cadiz (Cancion)