Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Flamagra – Flying Lotus (2xLP)

Save 21% Save 21%
Original price $48.00
Original price $48.00 - Original price $48.00
Original price $48.00
Current price $38.00
$38.00 - $38.00
Current price $38.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne


Fire is coming. "Flamagra" is a Flying Lotus album, possibly even his definitive one: an astral-afrofuturistic masterpiece between deep soul, cosmic dust and unconditional originality.

His last work "You're Dead" (2014) earned him a Grammy nomination, his Brainfeeder label has become one of the most innovative sound labs in the world, he co-produced Kendrick Lamar's five Grammy-winning masterpiece "To Pimp A Butterfly" (2015).

Now Flying Lotus is releasing his new album for Warp: "Flamagra" takes all the creative quantum leaps and innovative elements from 12 years of FlyLo's career and thinks them further, bigger, more epic and more universal: hip-hop, funk, soul, jazz, electro, IDM, the approaches of the friendly beatmakers from L.A., tribal elements, polyrhythms. But even this list is not enough to even begin to locate "Flamagra", because it breaks out of this coordinate system again and again.

The guest list reads like a dream: Anderson .Paak, George Clinton, Little Dragon, Solange, Tierra Whack, Denzel Curry, Ishmael Butler (Shabazz Palaces), Toro Y Moi, his musical tribal brother Thundercat, even David Lynch can be heard. The legendary director contributes a few eerie words, a dark narrative passage with which he warns us urgently: "Fire is coming".

"Flamagra" is the essence of the last century in the realm of African-American music, completely reimagined and rethought, collectively filtered and honed. Even though Flying Lotus is a descendant of his venerable great-aunt Alice Coltrane, who was married to John (though Miles and Madlib, Dilla and DOOM may also be considered his ancestors), he has since created his own cult: A following that absorbs all genius from the past and transfers it into realms that said ancestors could never have dreamed of. Flying Lotus is back. Fire is coming.

"Album No.6 ignites a futuristic fireworks display of funk, gospel, free jazz, rap and ambient with guest appearances from director David Lynch." (Stereo, August 2019)

Release details

Artist: Flying Lotus
Label: Warp Records
Format: LP
Units: 2
Country: US


A1 Heroes
A2 Post Requisite
A3 Heroes In A Half Shell
A4 More
A5 Capillaries
A6 Burning Down The House
A7 Spontaneous
B1 Takashi
B2 Pilgrim Side Eye
B3 All Spies
B4 Yellow Belly
B5 Black Balloons Reprise
C1 Fire Is Coming
C2 Inside Your Home
C3 Actually Virtual
C4 Andromeda
C5 Remind U
C6 Say Something
C7 Debbie Is Depressed
C8 Find Your Own Way Home
D1 The Climb
D2 Pygmy
D3 9 Carrots
D4 Ff4
D5 Land Of Honey
D6 Thank U Malcolm
D7 Hot Oct.