Skip to content
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!

Duke Ellington – The Feeling Of Jazz

Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne


Age never stopped Duke Ellington. Recorded in 1962 on four different dates at Bell Studio, "The Feeling Of Jazz" is one of the rarest titles ever released by America's greatest composer, featuring both never-before-heard originals and reinterpretations of Ellington classics. It features the Duke Ellington Orchestra, which has included musicians such as Paul Gonsalves, Johnny Hodges, Harold Baker and Jimmy Hamilton; the material contains a wealth of solos just in the right place and flying changes

Originally released on the British label Black Lion, a brand that specializes in recreating rare gems of US blues and jazz legends, "The Feeling Of Jazz" represents a very critical moment in Ellington's career and is an indispensable opportunity for collectors and enthusiasts to get closer to people and their music. Arranged by ORG Music, this historical reissue was given the best possible audiophile production standards, with the result that sound and presentation are in keeping with the music-historical significance of this record

Re-mastered from the original master tapes at Bernie Grundman Studios by Chris Bellman and pressed by Pallas, the sound processing of this LP was in the hands of legendary sound engineer Steve Hoffman and Bernie Grundman himself. You can't find a better team; serious quality standards were observed at every step to guarantee a dreamlike sound. The magnificent cover consists of a pre-cut black fold-out cover.

Release details

Label: Black Lion Records, ORG Music
Format: LP, Album, Reissue
Units: 1
Country: US
Released: 2013
Genre: Jazz
Style: Big Band, Swing


A1 Taffy Twist
A2 Flirtibird
A3 Smada
A4 What Am I Here For
A5 Take The 'A' Train
B1 I'm Gonna Go Fishin'
B2 Boo-Dah
B3 Black And Tan Fantasy
B4 The Feeling Of Jazz
B5 Jump For Joy
B6 I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart/Don't Get Around Much Anymore