Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Ray Charles – Genius + Soul = Jazz (Verve, Acoustic Sounds)

Original price $62.00 - Original price $62.00
Original price
$62.00 - $62.00
Current price $62.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Genius + Soul = Jazz was recorded at Van Gelder Studios in late 1960 and was one of the first four albums released on the Impulse! Label. It was produced by Creed Taylor and features hard-hitting arrangements by Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns. Charles switched from his usual electric piano to a "churchy" sounding Hammond organ and brought in most of Count Basie's band, including trumpeters Thad Jones and Joe Newman, tenor saxophonists Billy Mitchell and Frank Wess, guitarist Freddie Green, and drummer Sonny Payne.

    The record rose to #4 on the Billboard pop album chart and spawned the first singles on Impulse! help put the label on the map.

    Jazz pianist Dick Katz wrote in his original liner notes, "The combination of rare talent and uncommon craftsmanship has produced a record that displays the timeless quality and innate taste unique to Ray Charles."
  • Artist: Ray Charles
    Label: Impulse!, UMe, Verve Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Soul & Funk
    Style: Big Band
  • A1 From The Heart
    A2 I'Ve Got News For You
    A3 Moanin'
    A4 Let'S Go
    A5 One Mint Julep
    B1 I'M Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
    B2 Stompin' Room Only
    B3 Mister C
    B4 Strike Up The Band
    B5 Birth Of The Blues