Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Booker T & The MG's – Soul Limbo

Original price $45.00 - Original price $45.00
Original price
$45.00 - $45.00
Current price $45.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • From over-easy grooves to gritty, energised instrumental funk, ‘Soul Limbo’ found Booker T And The MGs working at their peak.

    Evoking long summer days in the UK, Booker T And The MGs’ track “Soul Limbo” has long since been known as the theme for the BBC’s cricket coverage, a status it attained during the 70s when the West Indies epitomized a swashbuckling style of play. But the track – and accompanying Soul Limbo album – represent something far different in the long career of Booker T And The MGs.

    This is the pinnacle of their period as the hippest instrumental act in 60s America – as cool as they come. Even the sleeve, with its super-retro (and rather cheesy) George Whiteman photo of a girl in a white bikini posing flirtatiously in front of the band under a boardwalk, suggests something out of a groovy beach movie more than the nitty gritty of Stax R&B in September ’68. Hey, look at these hipsters, it suggested. The album’s original title was intended to be Over Easy, hinting at just how relaxed Booker T and co were (early US copies even bore this title on their label, which was changed when “Soul Limbo” became an unexpected pop smash). But the music? It remains high-class soul, even if the group, as they had on their previous album, Doin’ Our Thing, cast their net quite wide when it came to choosing Soul Limbo’s material.
  • Artist: Booker T & The MG's
    Label: Stax
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK
    Genre: Soul & Funk
  • A1 Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy
    A2 La La Means I Love You
    A3 Hang Em' High
    A4 Willow Weep For Me
    A5 Over Easy
    A6 Soul Limbo
    B1 Eleanor Rigby
    B2 Heads Or Tails
    B3 (Sweet, Sweet, Baby) Since You'Ve Been Gone
    B4 Born Under A Bad Sign
    B5 Foxy Lady