Skip to content
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!

Aretha Franklin – Yeah!!! (Pure Pleasure)

Sold out
Condition: Brand New


This 'live' nightclub date with a jazz trio, revealed to be a faked on the Columbia compilations that have since come out, is nonetheless a great LP, maybe the best single Columbia LP from Aretha.

John Hammond discovered her and just wanted great music, but the label couldn't decide if she was a show tune singer, jazz or R&B and never figured out she was all of the above and deserved her own category.

This is the most jazzy Aretha ever and if she'd wanted to concentrate on this one area of her talent, she would still be ruling it. Worth the buy just for the track “Without The One You Love”.
J. Ellis


One of the great myths in music is that Aretha didn’t blossom until she signed with Atlantic. It may be true commercially, but her ten LPs or so with Columbia are…well. this is Aretha for goodness’ sake.

This set- recorded live at New York’s Columbia Studios, as opposed to at a gig in a club – shows her taking control of at least three genres, from blues to jazz to standards, with the emphasis on the jazz, and simply soars past Dinah, Sarah and Billie on material like `Misty’. Don’t let the pro-Atlantic mythology over shadow this superb-sounding gem from 1965, which also features Kenny Burrell on guitar is a bonus.

Release details

Label: Pure Pleasure Records, Columbia Records
Format: LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo
Units: 1
Country: UK
Released: 2016
Genre: Funk / Soul, Jazz


A1 This Could Be The Start Of Something
A2 Once In A Lifetime
A3 Misty
A4 More
A5 There Is No Greater Love
A6 Muddy Water
B1 If I Had A Hammer
B2 Impossible
B3 Today I Love Ev'Rybody
B4 Without The One You Love
B5 Trouble In Mind
B6 Love For Sale