Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Aretha Franklin, The Ray Bryant Combo – Aretha (Speakers Corner)

Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • It's well known that early relationships don't always bring happiness, and so it's no secret that the collaboration between Aretha Franklin and Columbia producer John H. Hammond did not last long. Hammond's later attempts to candy Franklin's irrepressible natural voice with sugary arrangements and studio gimmicks met with only divided approval from the audience.

    On the first Franklin disc from Columbia, on the other hand, true honeymoon still shone silvery. In a well-diced mix of pop and jazz standards, this 18-year-old super talent makes the vocal chords vibrate. Fired with youthful freshness, these standards glow so unspent and intoxicatingly that the question of the purity of styles becomes a secondary consideration. From bouncing R&B ("Won't Be Long") to bell-like melody waves ("Over The Rainbow") to the freely designed, jazzy tuned Gershwin classic "It Aint Necessarily So", everything is possible.

    The Ry Bryant Trio, slightly augmented with wind instruments, proves to be a formidable line-up for the debut, always providing both present and subtle accompaniment. If you compare the mature acts of Aretha Franklin in the following years on Atlantic (Atlantic SD7205) with these famous early recordings, you can be sure that the later 'First Lady of Soul' mastered her craft from the beginning.

    This Speakers Corner production was made using analog master tape and mastering 100% pure analog. All licenses and GEMA contributions were paid.

  • Artist: Aretha Franklin, The Ray Bryant Combo
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Germany
    Genre: Soul & Funk
  • A1 Won'T Be Long
    A2 Over The Rainbow
    A3 Love Is The Only Thing
    A4 Sweet Lover
    A5 All Night Long
    A6 Who Needs You?
    B1 Right Now
    B2 Are You Sure
    B3 Maybe I'M A Fool
    B4 It Ain'T Necessarily So
    B5 (Blue) By Myself
    B6 Today I Sing The Blues