Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Albert King – Born Under A Bad Sign (Speakers Corner)

On order
Original price $60.00 - Original price $60.00
Original price
$60.00 - $60.00
Current price $60.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Until the demanding community next to B. B. King and Freddie King could also proclaim Albert King as one of the three kings of electric blues, it took more than four decades of patient handwork: rocky but highly motivated beginnings to play his blues on self-made guitar, in the 50s a really good guitar and some promising songs, a couple of successful singles with contractual grounding at Stax Records in Memphis and finally King landed on the sunny side of his advanced life with "Born Under A Bad Sign". The album became one of the most influential recordings of record blues. This music also appealed to the white audience and paved the way for King to get out of the small clubs and into the bigger live events.

    From the title song on, he takes familiar blues courses, from which he makes individual detours into hectic, soulful realms ("Crosscut Saw") and lets himself be carried away by full-sounding wind instruments ("Kansas City"). Again and again the actors surprise us with new timbres like in the humming, humming "Oh, Pretty Woman", the scratchy warning "Down Don't Bother Me" or the swinging violin "The Hunter".

    This Speakers Corner production was made using analog master tape and 100% pure analog mastering.

    Recording: March 1966 - June 1967 in the Stax Studios, Memphis (TN) Production: Jim Stewart


    "The milestone of Electric Blues can still inspire after 50 years." (LP, issue 3 / 2018)

    "With the famous Booker T. & The M. G.'s and the Memphis Horns behind them, King was in great shape ... Speakers Corner has now prepared the great deed as an excellent reprint, the half-century recordings sound clearer and more dynamic than CD reissues." (Audio, April 2018)

    " you can easily make a recommendation here i'd like to say a few words. Especially with this album the difference between the CD and the vinyl, because the 'black Gold' sounds consistent in itself. Top." (Good Times, April / May 2018)
  • Artist: Albert King
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Germany
    Genre: Blues
  • A1 Born Under A Bad Sign
    A2 Crosscut Saw
    A3 Kansas City
    A4 Oh, Pretty Woman
    A5 Down Don'T Bother Me
    A6 The Hunter
    B1 I Almost Lost My Mind
    B2 Personal Manager
    B3 Laundromat Blues
    B4 As The Years Go Passing By
    B5 The Very Thought Of You