Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color

On order
Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • For "Sound & Color", the second, new album of the Alabama Shakes, singer Brittany Howard defined a few key points: these range from Curtis Mayfield to Gil Scott-Heron to the temptations and soundtracks of David Axelrod. Recorded in Nashville. The twelve songs show a clear development towards a more differentiated sound and more individuality. So it's no contradiction when Howard howls like James Brown on ecstasy to turn into a pre-punk garage soul à la The Sonics in the next song and then again wallow in sweat-soaked Slo-Mo psychedelic blues.

    No question, the Alabama Shakes have done what most can only dream of since the release of their debut "Boys & Girls" three years ago. Gold in the USA, three Grammy nominations, third place in England - not bad for a debut, what? In addition there are soundtrack contributions to Hollywood hits like "Twelve Years A Slave" and "Silver Linings" and a private concert for Barack Obama.

    With "Sound & Color" Alabama Shakes deliver an album full of courage, identity, warmth, depth and high musicality.


    "If the debut still sounded raw and close to nature like an evening on the southern veranda, you can hear the studio of the successor. And that's a good thing. Sky violins, piano drops. More fuzz, more fun." (music express, May 2015)

    "Almost more than the Black Keys, the Alabama Shakes have inhaled the sounds of soul and rock, from Led Zeppelin to Sly & The Family Stone. Tip and move number for a consistently strong album: 'Don't Wanna Fight'." (Audio, June 2015)
  • Artist: Alabama Shakes
    Label: Rough Trade
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Sound & Color
    A2 Don'T Wanna Fight
    A3 Dunes
    A4 Future People
    B1 Gimme All Your Love
    B2 This Feeling
    B3 Guess Who
    B4 The Greatest
    B5 Shoegaze
    C1 Miss You
    C2 Gemini
    C3 Over My Head